Home
CONSERVATION
Join our hands to conserve nature!

OPCFHK

As Ocean Park’s conservation arm, Ocean Park Conservation Foundation, Hong Kong (OPCFHK) is committed to advocating, facilitating and participating in effective conservation of Asian wildlife, with an emphasis on Chinese white dolphins and giant pandas as well as their habitats through partnerships, fundraising, research and education. It envisions a world where Asian wildlife remains biologically diverse under the stewardship of humans, corporations and governments.

Conservation & Research

Conservation & Research

The Foundation allocates funding to support conservation and research projects in Asia every year. In addition to the giant panda and the Chinese white dolphin, we support projects on other threatened species and their habitats. Many of the supported species are listed as “Critically Endangered” in the IUCN Red List, including the Chinese giant salamander, the Siamese crocodile and the Chinese crested tern. These projects mainly aim to understand the species and their habitats, train and engage local communities to support conservation efforts, and formulate sustainable conservation strategies. Learn more about the Foundation’s conservation and scientific research projects.

Community Education

Community Education

The education programmes of the Foundation aim to inspire a new generation of conservationists, enhance knowledge and improve facilities, as well as advocate and engage the public for conservation action. Through the University Student Sponsorship Programme, OPCFHK provides local university student a chance to have first-hand experience in the conservation field across Asia, hence, to encourage them to consider joining in conservation as their career. The Juvenile Horseshoe Crab Rearing Programme, co-organised with City University of Hong Kong, also teaches youngsters about conservation. Secondary students are able to rear the artificial-bred horseshoe crabs, and then release them to the wild. Learn more about the Foundation’s education and advocacy activities.

Local Conservation Efforts

Local Conservation Efforts

OPCFHK’s Cetacean Stranding Response Team has been collaborating with Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department to investigate the dolphin stranding cases in Hong Kong. Samples collected from the stranded dolphins provide important information about local cetaceans, including age, sex, pathogens and the causes of death, which enables conservationists to better conserve the animals and their habitats. The Foundation also conducts the seahorse survey and tagging project which could generate useful data and help formulate effective conservation management plan for the species.

Stakeholder's Engagement

Stakeholder's Engagement

As a conservation charitable trust supporting conservation across Asian region, OPCFHK needs support from various stakeholders to sustain these efforts. The Foundation is dedicated to collaborate with corporations and organisations, which enables us to reach out to an even wider audience with our urgent message of wildlife conservation. “Friends of the Foundation (FOF)” provides an opportunity for individuals from all walks of life to support the Foundation in its efforts to develop long-term, sustainable solutions for conservation. Donate and join the Friends of the Foundation membership club now to make a difference!

Ocean Park donates to OPCFHK a portion of the Park’s admission revenue and panda merchandise sales proceeds, as well as a percentage of revenue from F&B and animal encounter programmes, to support their wildlife conservation efforts in Asia. In addition, the entirety of admission revenue from the annual Ocean Park Conservation Day in January is also donated to the Foundation. The donation boxes and Octopus donation systems in Ocean Park enable guests to further provide direct support to wild animals. Ocean Park also shares staff time, office space and animal necropsy facility in support of the Foundation. Please visit OPCFHK website to learn more about their work.

Blue Matters

主页
保育知多少
携手保育大自然!

香港海洋公园保育基金

香港海洋公园保育基金(保育基金)肩负海洋公园保育使命,承诺透过协作筹款与科研教育,致力提倡促进及参与亚洲区内务实有效的野生生态保育工作,并重点保育中华白海豚与大熊猫以及其栖息地。保育基金展望各界无私合作,携手保护亚洲野生生态长久繁盛丰饶。

保育与研究

保育与研究

保育基金每年都会拨款资助亚洲区的野生生态保育和科研工作。除了重点关注大熊猫和中华白海豚之外,保育基金亦资助其他受威胁动物及其栖息地有关的科研及教育项目;当中包括不少被世界自然保护联盟濒危物种红色名录列为「极度濒危」的物种,如中国大鲵、暹罗鳄和黑嘴端凤头燕鸥等。这些项目主要了解野生动物的现况及栖息地、向当地社区提供训练以参与保育工作,和制定可持续发展的保育策略。按此了解更多保育基金资助的保育及科研项目。

公眾教育

公眾教育

保育基金的教育项目,旨在启迪新一代的保育生力军、加强保育人材培训及设备,以及倡议和呼吁公众参与保育工作。透过「野外生态保育大学生赞助计划」,保育基金资助本地大学生到亚洲区内不同地方,亲手参与前线的保育及科研工作,以激发他们投身保育工作的热诚。而与香港城市大学合办的「马蹄蟹校园保母计划」,则让中学生亲手饲养人工繁殖的年幼马蹄蟹,并把它们放归野外,以培养了他们保育野生动物的兴趣。按此了解更多保育基金的教育及倡议活动。

本地保育工作

本地保育工作

保育基金的「鲸豚搁浅行动组」与香港渔农自然护理署合作,跟进香港水域内的鲸豚搁浅个案,并采集样本让我们掌握本地鲸豚的年龄、性别、积存污染物、病因甚至死因等重要资讯,以更有效地保育海豚及其栖息地。另外,保育基金的海马普查及海马标签识别计划,旨在收集有关本地海马生态学的重要资料,以协助规划出更有效的保护本地海马族群及其生态环境的管理政策。

筹款协作

筹款协作

保育基金作为支援亚洲区保育工作的慈善信托基金,极需要社会各界的支持。我们并一直致力与企业和机构合作,向社会上不同领域和层面的对象传递生态保育的重要讯息。同时,保育基金成立了「基金之友」,让各界人士有机会透过亲身参与保育工作,而持续有效地推动生态保育。请以捐款支持,加入「基金之友」成为会员,与保育基金携手为亚洲生态出一分力!

为支持保育基金在亚洲区内的野生生态保育工作,海洋公园把入场门票收益、熊猫礼品、餐饮服务和动物全接触活动所得之部份收入,以及每年一月举办的「海洋公园保育日」入场门票之全数收入均拨捐保育基金;更在海洋公园内不同景点设置的八达通捐款系统和捐款箱,让游人可直接支持保育基金的工作。除此之外,海洋公园更为保育基金提供义务行政支援及办工地方,亦提供鲸豚解剖室作保育研究。请浏览保育基金网页,了解更多有关保育基金的工作。

同心护海洋