Join our hands to conserve nature!

What is the IUCN Red List?

This widely recognised inventory is developed by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN). It aims to assess the conservation status of animals, plants and fungi, while also providing information to support and promote conservation work. Species are evaluated globally and classified into the following categories:

Extinct in the Wild Known only to survive in captivity or outside the historic range
Threatened Species Critically Engangered Extremely high risk of extinction in the wild
Endangered Very high risk of extinction in the wild
Vulnerable High risk of extinction in the wild
Near Threatened Likely to become threatened in the near future
Least Concern Widespread and abundant
Data Deficient Lacking data on abundance or distribution
Blue Matters