Ocean Park Hong Kong
Join our hands to conserve nature!

Ragged Tooth Shark

Ragged Tooth Shark
Scientific Name

Carcharias taurus

Other Common Name(s)
Grey Nurse Shark, Sand Tiger Shark, Dogfish Shark
Body Length
Up to around 3.2 m
Body Weight
95-110 kg
Distribution
Coastal waters of temperate and tropical regions in the western Pacific, Indian and Atlantic Oceans
Fun Facts

Fun Facts

  • The eggs of ragged tooth sharks hatch inside the mother’s uterus. To ensure the pups can live by and fend for themselves, only 2 pups are born each time. The most advanced embryos in the uterus will eat the other eggs. The other eggs give them ample energy to develop before birth.

  • Ragged tooth sharks have two ways to achieve buoyancy. In their big liver, they have a large amount of oil that is lighter than water and therefore provides lift. They also take a gulp of air and keep it in their stomach for extra buoyancy.

Threats & Conservation

IUCN Red List: Vulnerable
IUCN Red List: Vulnerable

Ragged tooth sharks have been consumed for their meat, fins, liver oil and skin. They are not only caught in fishing nets, but also anti-shark nets at beaches. The population of ragged tooth sharks has declined by about 20% in the recent decade. Due to their slow growth, late sexual maturity and low fecundity, population recovery is very slow. If the fishing pressure continues, the consequence could be irreversible.

Do not consume shark fins!

Come and See Our Animals and Plants

Marine World I Summit

香港海洋公園
攜手保育大自然!

錐齒鯊

錐齒鯊
學名

Carcharias taurus

別名
沙虎鯊、戟齒砂鮫
身長

可達3.2米

體重

95-110公斤

分布
西太平洋、印度洋和大西洋的熱帶及溫帶沿岸水域
有趣資料

有趣資料

  • 錐齒鯊的蛋會在母親子宮內孵化。為使幼鯊能夠獨立生活和保護自己,牠們每次只產下2條幼鯊。在子宮內順利發育的胚胎會吃掉其他蛋,以獲取充足營養,於出生前快速成長。

  • 錐齒鯊以兩種方式防止身體下沉。牠們的肝臟肥大,當中含大量油份。油的密度低於水,故能提供浮力。牠們更會吞下空氣,將之留在肚內增加浮力。

生態威脅及保育狀況

瀕危物種紅色名錄: 易危
瀕危物種紅色名錄: 易危

錐齒鯊的鰭、肉、肝臟和皮膚均為人類所使用。除了漁網,海灘的防鯊網也是牠們的死敵。鯊魚生長緩慢,需時多年方到達性成熟,生育率亦很低。因此錐齒鯊的數目回復速度非常緩慢,於近10年間下降20%,若捕魚活動繼續,後果將無法逆轉。

拒絕食用魚翅!

來看看我們的動物和植物

海洋天地 I 高峰樂園