Ocean Park Hong Kong
Join our hands to conserve nature!

Animal Care Q&A

1. Where did the dolphins in Ocean Park come from?

Nearly 30% of the dolphins in Ocean Park originated from wild populations and were imported in 1987 and 1997 from Indonesia. The remainder were born under human care, including two from a South African park. Ocean Park has not imported any wild-caught cetaceans since 1997.

2. How does Ocean Park ensure a smooth acclimatisation process for highly sensitive koalas?

Eight months prior to the arrival of the first batch of koalas in Ocean Park, several husbandry staff were stationed in Adelaide, South Australia to undergo training in koala care and become acquainted with the animals. A koala keeper from Cleland Wildlife Park in Adelaide accompanied the koalas to Hong Kong and shared techniques and experiences with our team.

3. How does Ocean Park build relationships with the animals?

A relationship based on trust is built through daily interaction, such as in feeding, playing and caring. We spend time observing the animals’ behaviour and getting to know their individual characters. All animals are treated with care and respect.

4. Why does Ocean Park put sharks together with other animals?

Sharks are part of the marine ecosystem. They share their habitats, such as coral reefs, with many other neighbours. Some sharks even form mutualistic relationships with animals such as cleaner wrasses and remoras. In our aquariums, you will find aquarists distributing food on the water surface and hand-feeding larger fish under water. Providing sufficient food keeps the animals healthy and ensures they coexist peacefully.

5. Why don’t the birds in Ocean Park fly away?

Well, they could. However, the birds become familiar with their neighbourhood and form a close bond with their animal keepers. There have been occasions where birds have flown away, usually due to change in the environment or some unexpected stimulation. In such cases, the husbandry team investigates possible locations the birds might have flown to and conducts a search. Some birds are fitted with a radio transmitter while outdoors so we can track them by picking up their signal with a receiver.

6. Is it unnatural for dolphins to do the things we see in the shows in Ocean Park?

Animal behaviours such as leaping, whistling and tail slapping on display in Ocean Wonders can all be seen in the wild when dolphins forage and interact with each other. Our relationship with the animals is one of respect and we regard them as partners in our conservation advocacy.

7. How does Ocean Park determine if a dolphin is suitable for participating in presentations?

We monitor the health and character of our animals before determining whether they can participate in a public presentation. We ensure that all animals engaged in presentations have sufficient rest, time to spend with their conspecifics, and play. Rest periods are maintained regardless of the number of guests visiting the Park.

8. What does Ocean Park do if an animal does not participate in a presentation when asked?

It is up to the animals to decide whether to participate or not. Their engagement in any kind of training programme can fluctuate, in part due to their normal physiological cycles, for example their reproductive status, growth, seasonal thermoregulatory demands, and general well-being. A change in an animal’s normal behaviour, in training activities or in public presentations, could also be an indication of a change in the animal’s social situation. All changes in behaviour are investigated and the husbandry staff seek first to understand the reason behind the change, in case any additional monitoring is needed.

9. Does Ocean Park have special arrangements for aged dolphins?

Yes. The Park provides the best care possible for all animals along their life journey. Aged animals, including dolphins, still require mental and physical stimuli, so they continue to be engaged in enrichment, research, training, and social activities. These things provide psychological challenge and some level of physical exercise. They also allow for a stress-free experience for animals during health-monitoring procedures. Aged dolphins are not involved in presentations or breeding.

10. Why does Ocean Park euthanize some ill or injured animals?

Care and treatment always come first whenever we encounter ill or injured animals. Euthanasia is only considered if the suffering of an animal cannot be resolved or alleviated after care and treatment and the condition has reached what we call a “humane endpoint”. A humane endpoint is the earliest scientifically justified point at which the pain or distress of an animal can be prevented, terminated, or relieved, while meeting the aims and objectives of maintaining positive animal welfare. We engage experienced animal experts and review all possible options before a decision to euthanize is made.

11. Could the dolphins in Ocean Park be released into the wild?

The dolphins at Ocean Park are either old in dolphin years (over 30 years old) and have spent most of their lives out of the wild, or they were born under human care. An “augmentation” or introduction programme would need to follow the IUCN/SSC reintroduction guidelines. If Ocean Park’s dolphins were to become part of such a programme, many criteria would need to be considered, including but not limited to:

  • The captive-bred dolphins would need to be reintroduced within a managed marine protected area.
  • The work should not detract from efforts to enforce in-situ conservation of cetaceans within the proposed augmentation area.

12. How does Ocean Park decide if a rescued or confiscated animal should be released into the wild?

The Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) is the owner of all animals it rescues or confiscates during the rehabilitation period. The decision as to whether an animal is suitable for release is made by the AFCD, together with advice from Ocean Park and OPCFHK. There are international guidelines for coming to these decisions, which also require veterinary expertise as well as species-specific animal knowledge. The animal’s abilities to forage, to defend itself, and to fulfil its social requirements are some of the criteria for consideration.


References:
IUCN, S. (2013). Guidelines for reintroductions and other conservation translocations. Gland Switz Camb UK IUCNSSC Re-Introd Spec Group.
Müller, M., Boutière, H., Weaver, A. C. F., & Candelon, N. (1998). Ethogram of the bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops truncatus), with special reference to solitary and sociable dolphins. Vie et Milieu (France).

香港海洋公園
攜手保育大自然!

疑問解答

1. 海洋公園的海豚從哪裏來呢?

現時園內的海豚有接近三成來自野外,於1987及1997年由印尼抵港,其餘的在人工環境下出生,當中兩隻來自位於南非的公園。海洋公園自1997年起已停止引入任何野外捕獲的鯨豚。

2. 樹熊對環境變化較為敏感,如何確保牠們能夠適應環境?

在第一批樹熊抵達本園的八個月以前,幾位動物護理員遠赴南澳州的阿得萊德,接受樹熊護理訓練,並了解牠們的習性。一位來自當地克萊蘭德野生動物園的護理員亦陪同樹熊到港,與我們交流心得及護理技巧。

3. 海洋公園怎樣與動物建立互信關係?

我們透過餵食、玩耍及護理等日常互動與動物建立互信的緊密關係。我們會觀察牠們的行為,了解其性格及喜好,以愛護和尊重為相處之道。

4. 為甚麼要把鯊魚和其他動物放在一起?

鯊魚是海洋生態系統的一部分,與無數的鄰居共享棲息地,珊瑚礁就是例子之一。有些鯊魚更和醫生魚、印魚等動物構成互惠互利的共生關係。如你遇上水族館餵飼時間,會看見水族員在水面上投食,並潛入水中直接餵食給體型較大的魚類。豐富的食物不但能滿足動物的營養需要,飽餐一頓後牠們亦可以和平共處。

5. 海洋公園的雀鳥會飛走嗎?

會!牠們熟悉鄰近區域,與護理員關係緊密。以往的確有雀鳥飛走的個案,多數為環境轉變或受意外刺激所致,護理員會推測其位置並展開搜索。於戶外時,我們會為部分鳥類繫上無線電發射器,可運用接收器循訊號追蹤牠們。

6. 海豚於表演中展現的行為是否有違自然?

現時海豚於《海洋奇遇》中展現的行為,例如跳躍、發出像口哨的聲音及拍打尾巴等,均屬野生海豚覓食及互動時展現的自然行為。我們與動物的關係建基於尊重互信,牠們是推動保育的好拍擋。

7. 海洋公園如何判斷海豚是否適合參與劇場演出?

我們會先觀察動物的健康及個性,才決定牠們是否適合參與表演。我們確保所有參與的動物有充裕的時間休息、玩樂及與同伴相處。即使入場人數增加,我們亦不會改變其作息時間。

8. 如動物拒絕參與動物展示,海洋公園會如何處理?

動物可選擇是否參與表演,牠們對任何訓練活動的參與度均會改變並調整,無論是生殖週期、成長、季節性生理變化還是整體身心健康,都可能影響其行為。動物於參與訓練活動如示範或表演時出現行為轉變,也可能是社交狀況轉變的徵兆。我們會對動物的所有行為改變進行調查,護理員會嘗試了解背後原因,留意是否要加強觀察。

9. 對於年長的海豚,海洋公園有任何特別安排嗎?

有!海洋公園致力為園內所有動物提供終身的優質護理。年長的動物仍需要心理及生理刺激,因此牠們會參與環境豐容、研究、訓練及社交活動,讓牠們動動腦筋,做做運動,亦有助牠們輕鬆進行身體檢查。年長的海豚不會參與表演,也不會繁殖。

10. 為甚麼要為患病或受傷的動物安排安樂死?

當遇到患病或受傷的動物,護理及治療必定是首要的工作。只有當醫療護理無法消除或減輕動物承受的痛苦,而程度已達到人道終點,才會考慮安排安樂死。人道終點是指當動物福祉無法維持,其所受的痛苦無法避免、終止或減輕,而及早以科學角度考慮的決定性時刻。我們會與其他富經驗的專家商討,反覆考量所有方案後,才會作出決定。

11. 海洋公園的海豚適合放歸野外嗎?

在海洋公園的海豚當中,源自野外的已步入晚年(超過30歲),並長期處於人工環境,其餘的均在人工環境出生。動物放歸計劃必須遵照國際自然保護聯盟的放歸及遷移指引(IUCN/SSC 2013),如要園內海豚參與動物放歸計劃,需符合許多條件,並經過周詳的考慮。以下是部分條件:

  • 必須在受監管的海洋保護區內放歸人工飼養的海豚
  • 不可干擾放歸水域內對於鯨豚類動物的原地保育工作

12. 海洋公園如何決定是否將獲救的動物放歸野外?

由漁農自然護理署(漁護署)拯救或充公的動物,於療養期間均屬漁護署所擁有。海洋公園及香港海洋公園保育基金會向漁護署提出建議,由署方判斷是否適合將動物放歸野外。放歸的決定除了需參照相應的國際指引,亦需依憑獸醫的專業意見及對該物種的認識,考慮該動物的覓食、自衛及社交能力等條件。


參考資料:
IUCN, S. (2013). Guidelines for reintroductions and other conservation translocations. Gland Switz Camb UK IUCNSSC Re-Introd Spec Group.
Müller, M., Boutière, H., Weaver, A. C. F., & Candelon, N. (1998). Ethogram of the bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops truncatus), with special reference to solitary and sociable dolphins. Vie et Milieu (France).