Ocean Park Hong Kong
Explore what Ocean Park is all about.

World Oceans Day

Plastic free living starts from forgoing straws everyday

Ocean Park Conversation Foundation, Hong Kong (OPCFHK) announced the return of No Straw Campaign for a third consecutive year. Research commissioned by the Foundation shows encouraging progress in reducing Hong Kong’s overall plastic straw consumption, which has dropped from 1.7 billion in 2017 to 1.08 billion in 2019[1] thanks to concerted efforts in inviting the public to say no to plastic straws. However, the survey indicates that Hong Kongers are still using 4.31 straws per week on average, which is still posing detrimental impacts on the environment. In addition, the number of partnering organisations has more than doubled this year, with over 1,700 restaurants, educational institutions, corporations and government departments joining us to further public awareness on the threats that plastic products have on our oceans and the environment.
 
The latest campaign video was also launched on June 6! You can see and hear celebrity Sammy Leung transforms into a pint-sized “No Straw Guardian” to illustrate the huge negative environmental impact a single plastic straw could bring to the ecosystem. Celebrity Aimee Chan is also on board with the cause. “As a mother of three, I am concerned that plastic waste that goes into the ecosystems may end up as microplastics and contaminate the food chain, consequently posing an adverse effect on our health. To protect the environment from plastic pollution, I feel obliged to adopt a ‘less plastic’ lifestyle and minimise the use of single use plastic products in the family,” said Chan.
 
In addition, OPCFHK is launching a free-to-download WhatsApp Sticker Pack to get Hong Kongers talking about this important topic in their day-to-day conversations with family and friends. Join us as well by saying “No straw, thanks!” together!


[1]The survey interviewed 1,000 respondents aged 15-59 in May 2019. Results show that the average consumption per week per person is 4.31 straws. When multiplied by the total population within that same age group in Hong Kong (4,846,876) and the number of weeks in a year (52), that is equivalent to 1.08 billion plastic straws used in Hong Kong a year. The average consumption per week per person in the 2017 survey was 6.75 straws and the projected annual consumption in Hong Kong was 1.7 billion.

 

    World Oceans Day 2018

    Plastic free living starts from forgoing straws everyday

    In response to World Oceans Day on 8 June, Ocean Park Conservation Foundation, Hong Kong (OPCFHK) launched the very first “No Straw Day” in 2017 to increase the public awareness on the effect of marine plastic debris. On 2018’s World Oceans Day, OPCFHK celebrated the “No Straw Day” again and has set up game booths in Ocean Park to convey plastic-free living and to encourage individuals to pledge to forgo plastic straws. In order to further promote the public awareness about the issue, OPCFHK also launched the "No Straw Campaign" - a wider and on-going movement to further encourage a reduction in the use of disposable straws and other plastics in Hong Kong, taking a significant step towards helping to safeguard our marine eco-system. According to the survey conducted by OPCFHK in May, the annual consumption of plastic straws in Hong Kong is projected to reduce by 2.6 million in 2018 when compared to the figure for 2017, reflecting a positive trend towards plastic straw free living in the city. However, this still means that Hong Kong residents use an eye-watering, 1.44 billion plastic straws a year.

    This year, OPCFHK has teamed-up with more than 850 local restaurants, educational institutions, as well as restaurants outlets from around 20 major chains to draw the public to action through the launch of the “No Straw the Eighth”, “No Straw Friday” and “No Straw Partner” schemes. These schemes mean that restaurants and schools will not provide straws to their customers or students unless upon request on either the eighth day of every month, every Friday, or in the case of partners, every day of the year – essentially never.

    On 5 June, celebrities Ms. Sharon Chan and Mr. Sammy Leung attended the No Straw Campaign Kick-off event to call for public to forgo plastic straws. Sammy shared, “Being a true supporter of a plastic-free lifestyle myself, I have always educated my children about the importance of protecting the environment and my aim is to make sure that not using plastic straws becomes a daily habit for them.” To educate the public about no straw living, OPCFHK also rolled out a video featuring actress Ms. Sharon Chan, she said, “Educating our next generation is the key to a sustainable future. As a parent, I have to set a good example to my child by encouraging him to protect the natural environment, and getting the public to reduce their use of straws is a small by significant start to help put this principle into practice.

     
     
     
     

    World Oceans Day 2017

    Be the Change, Say No to Straw Now

    Plastic straws are one of the top ten contributors to marine debris. This May, Ocean Park Conservation Foundation, Hong Kong (OPCFHK) conducted a survey to understand the behaviour of plastic straws consumption in Hong Kong. The survey result showed that the 1,000 respondents, aged 15-59, on average use 6.75 plastic straws a week. If the same applies to the rest of the Hong Kong population within the same age group, that is equivalent to the use of 1.7 billion plastic straws per year.

    On 7 June, our Marine Conservation Ambassador Ms. Gigi Leung set sail to Aberdeen typhoon shelter to experience how marine debris is affecting our oceans.

    “As a mother, I feel even more related to marine conservation than ever as I wish my child can always have a healthy ocean. Therefore, I started talking to my child about the importance of protecting marine wildlife at an early age” Gigi said. “It took me a lot of time to pick up the trash floating on the sea. I learnt from the fishermen that the situation might be worse on other days. By taking a small step such as not using disposable straws or replacing with reusable straws, it will make a huge difference to the environment. It is time for us to take responsibility for our actions and say “No” to plastic straws or any other disposable plastics to save our environment.”

    As straws often end up in the oceans and can damage fragile ecosystems if not disposed of properly, OPCFHK designates 8 June World Oceans Day as “No Straw Day” to encourage individuals to reduce their plastic straw usage. On that day, over 600 restaurants under 53 entities from corporations and schools did not offer straws unless upon request. Also, OPCFHK has set up game booths in Ocean Park to convey no-straw message, and successfully encouraged 584 visitors to pledge to stop using disposable straws for a month.

香港海洋公园
全面了解香港海洋公园的资料。

世界海洋日

走塑 · 由每日走饮管做起

香港海洋公园保育基金(下称「保育基金」)连续第三年举办「无饮管运动」。保育基金的年度调查结果显示「无饮管运动」的成效与日倍增,预计本港全年塑胶饮管使用量将从2017年的17亿支大减至今年的10.8亿支[1]。虽然如此,调查却显示港人现时每星期平均仍使用4.31支饮管,对环境造成影响的依然严峻。今年参与『无饮管运动』的机构数目较去年上升超过一倍,合共超过1,700多间餐厅、教育机构、企业及政府部门支持今届计划,合力鼓励公众持续关注塑胶制品对海洋及环境的威胁。
 
保育基金今年为「#无饮管运动」拍摄的全新宣传片亦于6月6日播出了!大家由即日起都可在各大电视和电台看到及听到活动大使森美化身成为「杯缘守护队」,捍卫杯面,不让塑胶饮管放进饮品中!艺人陈茵媺亦加入支持「无饮管运动」的行列,她说:「作为三个孩子的母亲,我非常关注塑胶垃圾的问题,塑胶在地球生态可分解为微塑胶,更有可能持续污染食物链,最终危害我们的健康。要保护环境免受塑料污染,我认为必须奉行减塑生活模式,并与家人落实行动,减少使用即弃塑胶制品。 」
 
此外,保育基金亦推出可供免费下载的WhatsApp贴图包,鼓励港人将此重要课题融入日常生活及对话。只要你愿意,都可以加入我们,一起说声「走饮管吖唔该」!


[1]调查于2019年5月访问了1,000名年龄介乎15至59岁的人士,结果显示每人每星期平均使用4.31支饮管。将此数字乘以本港同年龄组别的总人数 (4,846,876)及一年中星期总数 (52),相等于香港每年使用10.8亿支饮管。在2017年的调查中,每人每星期平均使用6.75支饮管,推算每年使用量高达17亿支。

    「世界海洋日」2018

    走塑 ‧ 由每日走飲管做起

    為響應6月8日「世界海洋日」,鼓勵公眾關注海洋塑膠垃圾問題,香港海洋公園保育基金(下稱保育基金)繼2017年首辦「無飲筒日」後,今年再次在「世界海洋日」舉辦「無飲管日」,透過在園內設置遊戲攤位,向遊客傳遞走塑生活的訊息,並且進一步推出「無飲管運動」,以更廣泛及持續的方式鼓勵全港市民減用即棄塑膠飲管,以至其他一次性塑膠製品,為保育海洋生態踏出重要一步。保育基金今年5月進行問卷調查,與去年同一調查比較,推算本港市民較去年減少使用約2億6千萬支塑膠飲管,反映市民對減用塑膠飲管的態度愈趨積極,但港人每年仍然使用高達14.4億支塑膠飲管。

    保育基金的「無飲管運動」今年夥拍多家本地餐廳、學校,以及多達20家大型連鎖餐飲集團,合共超過850間食肆及學校,推出「無飲管八號」、「無飲管星期五」及「無飲管伙伴」等計劃。參與食肆和學校將於每月八號或逢星期五,不會主動提供飲管予顧客或學生,而參與「無飲管伙伴」計劃的機構承諾全年均不會主動提供飲管。

    在6月5日,藝人陳敏之及森美出席了在香港海洋公園舉行的「無飲管運動」啟動禮。森美表示︰「我自己本身亦很支持『無塑』生活。我一直都有教育我的子女環保的重要性,希望培養他們減用塑膠飲管的習慣。」藝人陳敏之更出演運動的宣傳短片,她表示﹕「教育下一代正是實現可持續未來的關鍵所在。作為家長,我必須為小朋友樹立好榜樣,鼓勵他保護自然環境。推動市民減少使用飲管,雖然是一個細微的舉動,但卻是把環保付諸實行的重大開始。」

     
     
     
     

    「世界海洋日」2017

    改变,由「走饮筒」开始

    塑胶饮筒是全球十大海洋垃圾之一,今年5月,香港海洋公园保育基金(保育基金)就香港人使用即弃塑胶饮筒的习惯进行问卷调查,发现1千名15至59岁的受访者平均每人每星期使用6.75支塑胶饮筒。以此推算,即港人每年使用高达共17亿支塑胶饮筒。

    在6月7日,保育基金海洋保育大使梁咏琪特别到香港仔避风塘,了解海洋垃圾如何影响海洋生态。

    梁咏琪说道:「身为人母,我希望女儿日後能拥有健康美丽的海洋,因此我很早便向女儿灌输保护海洋生物的重要讯息。我在香港仔避风塘花了很多时间捡拾漂浮在海面的垃圾。而从渔民口中得知,今天海面的垃圾已不算多。在茫茫大海中清理垃圾非常费时,但是我们只须在日常生活中作出小改变,已经可以为环境带来正面影响,例如停止使用即弃胶饮筒。现在是时候为我们的行为负责,拯救我们的环境。」

    保育基金为响应6月8日世界海洋日,於同日推动了《无饮筒日》活动,鼓励公众「走饮筒」,以减少制造海洋垃圾,避免危害海洋生态系统。保育基金获得53家餐饮集团丶机构丶大专院校及中丶小学等,共超过600间餐厅支持,在当日停止主动派发饮筒。保育基金同日亦於海洋公园内设置摊位,透过游戏向游客传达「走饮筒」讯息,并成功鼓励了584位游客签署承诺於一个月内拒绝使用即弃饮筒。