Ocean Park Hong Kong
Join our hands to conserve nature!

Research

Ex-situ Research

As a zoological facility, Ocean Park provides an ex-situ environment (out of an animal’s natural habitat) for scientific research. This can help researchers avoid some of the barriers and complications in the field, thus offering them an easier way to study the biology and behaviour of their subjects leading to enhanced conservation and care. It is often difficult, for example, to obtain frequent and regular data or samples from marine wildlife. Our ex-situ setting allows researchers to conduct long-term observation, while monitoring the animals closely. Such information can serve as a framework for further studies and, through application in the wild, act as a key to understand and conserve a species.


Artificial Reproduction

Artificial Reproduction

In 1993, Ocean Park established a scientifically-controlled breeding programme for dolphins in its care. This had rarely, if ever, been accomplished. In 2000, in collaboration with The Hong Kong Polytechnic University and SeaWorld in the United States, the Park achieved the world’s first successful conception of Indo-Pacific bottlenose dolphins using artificial insemination. The breakthrough put the collaboration at the forefront of reproductive physiology and managed breeding of marine mammals in zoological settings. It has not only helped protect bottlenose dolphins, but could also be applied with other animals such as sharks and finless porpoises in Asia. The technology can help develop new methods for preserving reproductive material under very low temperatures for many other species, as well as eggs and tissue, that one day—generations from now—could be used to create life. Such outcomes can also motivate and train enthusiastic young students who have never before considered wildlife reproduction or conservation as a career.

Publications and presentations:
Brook, F., & Kinoshita, R. (2004). Ultrasonographic assessment of the ovarian cycle in the Indo-Pacific bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops aduncus) at Ocean Park, Hong Kong and its use in controlled natural breeding and artificial insemination: twelve years on (Abstract). IAAAM Proceedings 2004.
Brook, F., Kinoshita, R., Spielman, D., Mauroo, N., Rourke, N., & Rayner, C. (2004). Artificial insemination in the Indo-Pacific bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops aduncus) (Abstract). IAAAM Proceedings 2004.


Biosonar Research

Biosonar Research

Since 2005, The Biosonar Research Project, a collaboration between Ocean Park and the National University of Singapore, has been investigating how dolphins use echolocation (sonar) to recognise shapes and interpret the environment with amazing efficiency. Using a Matching-To-Sample theory, the dolphins involved in this programme are asked to echolocate on a sample object concealed in a box, then to match it to one of several alternatives displayed visually in the air. The acoustic data collected in these tests helps us understand how dolphin echolocation works, its capabilities and its limitations. It can also give us some insight into the impact of human activities on wild populations, thus helping formulate conservation measures for dolphins.

Publications and presentations:
M. Hoffmann-Kuhnt, M. Chitre, R. Wellard, J. Lee, G. Abel, K. Yeo, & J.-L. Chew. (2011). “Is synthetic aperture an essential tool for echoic shape recognition in dolphins?,” in IEEE OCEANS'11 Kona.
M. Hoffmann-Kuhnt, R. Wellard, J. Lee, E. Matrai, & M. A. Chitre. (2011). Cross-modal matching of rotated stimuli by a bottlenose dolphin. 19th Biennial Conference on the Biology of Marine Mammals, Tampa Convention Center, Tampa, United States.


Cooperative Enrichment Research

Cooperative Enrichment Research

A recent ex-situ research programme on cognitive enrichment depends on cooperation among dolphins for its success. The study aims to examine solutions used and the formation of cooperative behaviour among pairs of Indo-Pacific bottlenose dolphins when presented with a novel task. This research is an exceptional opportunity to compare the performance of dolphins of different age, gender, relatedness, and social status. In addition, the programme aims to establish a personality profile of each dolphin to assess the effects of individual differences on cognitive strategies.

Breeding and Reintroduction of the Yellow-Bibbed Lory

Breeding and Reintroduction of the Yellow-Bibbed Lory

The beautiful yellow-bibbed lory (Lorius chlorocercus), a parrot species native to the eastern Solomon Islands, has highly specialized dietary requirements and specific territorial behaviour. Thousands of these birds are believed to have been taken from the wild as part of the illegal wildlife trade and subsequently died in captivity during the 19th century. Since 2014, the Park has been part of a collaborative breeding programme to establish an ex-situ assurance population and reintroduce the birds back into their original habitat.

Collaborative Conservation Breeding of Hard Corals

Collaborative Conservation Breeding of Hard Corals

In collaboration with the Swire Institute of Marine Science of the University of Hong Kong (HKU-SWIMS), Ocean Park is breeding and growing local species of hard corals for education and research. To establish assurance populations and increase the genetic diversity, the partnership involves the exchange of scientific, technical, and practical skills and knowledge. The project aims to create a collaborative scientific research platform for studying hard corals. The long-term goal is to conserve hard corals by reintroducing common species to coastal habitats in Hong Kong that have a history of coral community degradation.

香港海洋公园
携手保育大自然!

科学研究

迁地研究

作为圈养动物的设施,海洋公园提供一个“迁地”—即处于自然动物栖息地以外的环境,以作科学研究,协助科学家排除部分在野外环境的障碍,方便他们探索动物的身体构造与行为习性,从而提升保育或护理的成效。例如研究海洋生物时,从野外取得频繁及定期的数据样本并非易事,在人工环境下,较容易对动物进行长期监测或近距离观察。所得资料可为日后更深入的研究奠下基础,并运用于野外研究,这些都是了解及保育物种的关键。


人工繁殖

人工繁殖

海洋公园于1993年为园内的海豚开展科学化繁殖计划,这类计划在此之前鲜有成功先例。于2000年,公园与香港理工大学、美国海洋世界的动物专家和研究员共同努力,首次成功以人工受孕繁殖印度太平洋瓶鼻海豚。这次突破使团队成为于人工环境对海洋哺乳类动物进行繁殖研究及人工繁殖的先驱,不但有助保育瓶鼻海豚,更可应用于鲨鱼及江豚等其他动物。当中的技术亦有助发展冷藏细胞组织的崭新方法,为多个物种保存精卵,以备将来可能需要进行繁殖作保育用途。这些科研及保育上的发展可提供培训机会,鼓励年青人从事动物繁殖或自然保育。

出版及报告:
Brook, F., & Kinoshita, R. (2004). Ultrasonographic assessment of the ovarian cycle in the Indo-Pacific bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops aduncus) at Ocean Park, Hong Kong and its use in controlled natural breeding and artificial insemination: twelve years on (Abstract). IAAAM Proceedings 2004.
 Brook, F., Kinoshita, R., Spielman, D., Mauroo, N., Rourke, N., & Rayner, C. (2004). Artificial insemination in the Indo-Pacific bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops aduncus) (Abstract). IAAAM Proceedings 2004.


生物声纳

生物声纳

自2005年起,海洋公园与新加坡国立大学合作研究生物声纳,探讨海豚如何以回声定位高效率地识别物体形状及分析四周环境。研究运用配对样本的原理,将某种形状的物体藏于水中的箱子内,海豚会先用回声扫描物体,再从水面外展示的几个物体中,选出一模一样的答案。收集这些声音数据,有助认识海豚回声定位的运作方式、效用和限制,并理解人类活动对野外族群的影响,从而制定有效的保育措施。

出版及报告:
M. Hoffmann-Kuhnt, M. Chitre, R. Wellard, J. Lee, G. Abel, K. Yeo, & J.-L. Chew. (2011). “Is synthetic aperture an essential tool for echoic shape recognition in dolphins?,” in IEEE OCEANS'11 Kona.
 M. Hoffmann-Kuhnt, R. Wellard, J. Lee, E. Matrai, & M. A. Chitre. (2011). Cross-modal matching of rotated stimuli by a bottlenose dolphin. 19th Biennial Conference on the Biology of Marine Mammals, Tampa Convention Center, Tampa, United States.


合作性丰容研究

合作性丰容研究

我们在园内展开全新研究计划,将海豚分成两只一组,运用认知丰容装置给它们一些新奇的小任务。计划目标是要研究它们如何解决问题,以及如何构成合作行为。我们可借此比较不同年龄、性别、关系及社会地位的海豚的行为表现。此外,计划亦旨在为每只海豚作性格评估,并探讨个别差异对认知策略的影响。

黄领鹦鹉的繁殖与放归

黄领鹦鹉的繁殖与放归

黄领鹦鹉 (Lorius chlorocercus) 是一种来自所罗门群岛东部的鹦鹉,有特殊的营养需要及领域行为。鲜艳夺目的外表导致成千上万的野生黄领鹦鹉被捕捉作非法贸易,并于19世纪期间在人工环境下死去。海洋公园自2014年起参与一个合作计划,透过繁殖培育出健康而可以放归原生地的黄领鹦鹉,建立存续族群,作为迁地保育。

合作养殖石珊瑚

合作养殖石珊瑚

海洋公园与香港大学太古海洋科学研究所(HKU-SWIMS)合作,繁殖及培育本地品种的石珊瑚作教育和研究用途。公园与HKU-SWIMS会互相交流科学及技术上的知识与经验,以建立能存续的珊瑚族群,并使基因更多样化。除了为石珊瑚的科研创造一个合作平台,亦期望以放归常见珊瑚品种为长远目标,帮助重建本港逐渐减少的珊瑚群落。