Ocean Park Hong Kong

Green Turtle

Chinese Name: 綠海龜
English Name: Green Turtle
What is Green Turtle?
The green turtle is the second largest turtle on earth and the only species that has breeding records in Hong Kong. Nevertheless, living in Hong Kong is not easy. Green turtles are in the news from time to time for being killed by ghost nets, marine debris and ship propellers.

Sea Turtles and Hong Kong:
Only seven species of sea turtles are identified on earth and five have been recorded in Hong Kong over the years, including loggerhead, leatherback, hawksbill, olive ridley and the only species that has breeding records in Hong Kong, the green turtle.
 
Threats and Conservation Status:
Green turtles are currently under the protection of the Wild Animals Protection Ordinance (Cap. 170). Hunting, possession, selling or export of green turtles (including their nests and eggs) are prohibited unless a special permit is granted. Offenders are liable to a maximum fine of HK$100,000 and imprisonment for one year, and all items will be confiscated. Ocean Park urges the public to call the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) hotline on 1823 if they come across injured turtles in the wild, so that the authorities can attend to the cases as quickly as possible.
Ocean Park and Sea Turtle Conservation:
Since 2000, Ocean Park has been working with Hong Kong’s Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department for the rescue and rehabilitation of sea turtles from stranding reports and illegal trade. Over the past 20 years, Ocean Park has successfully treated and rehabilitated over 60 sea turtles, including endangered green turtles and critically endangered hawksbill. To raise conservation awareness among the younger generations in Hong Kong, Ocean Park has been organising the “Ocean Park STEAM Student Competition” since 2019 to motivate students to propose creative solutions for animal conservation. Besides, secondary students, university students are invited to participate in the rehabilitation with first-hand experience. The public can learn more about the rescue and conservation of sea turtles through Ocean Park’s YouTube channel or visit the exhibition in the Grand Aquarium.

Let’s Protect Green Turtle
Disposable plastic affects marine life because sea turtles and other animals might eat plastic accidentally. Let’s join the “No straw” campaign to protect sea turtles and marine lives.

香港海洋公園

綠海龜

中文名稱: 綠海龜
英文名稱: Green Turtle
什麼是綠海龜:
綠海龜是世界第二大的海龜,亦是唯一一種在香港有繁殖記錄的海龜品種。然而,海龜在香港水域生存並不容易,不時發現海龜被魚網纏繞、誤食海洋垃圾和被船隻螺旋槳割傷等。
 
香港與海龜:
全球已知的海龜品種僅有7種,而香港作為一個座落於亞熱帶地區的沿海城市,共有5種海龜的發現記錄。其中包括赤蠵龜、棱皮龜、玳瑁、欖蠵龜以及唯一會於香港繁殖的綠海龜。
 
生態威脅及保育狀況:
綠海龜受《野生動物保護條例》(第170章)保護,未經許可,不得捕獵、管有、售賣或出口海龜(包括巢和蛋),違例者最高可被判罰款港幣十萬元及監禁一年,有關物品亦會被充公。大家如在野外發現受傷或遇困的海龜,請即致電熱線1823向漁護署報告有關海龜的位置,以助有關當局進行拯救。
海洋公園與海龜保育:
自2000年起,海洋公園與漁農自然護理署緊密合作,以義務性質拯救及照顧於野外擱淺或於走私中充公所得的海龜。20年來,海洋公園已成功接收、醫治及放歸超過60隻海龜(當中包括瀕危的綠海龜以及極度瀕危的玳瑁)。為進一步提升青少年的保育意識,海洋公園更是自2019年起開始舉辦 「海洋公園STEAM學生大賽」,邀請各地中小學生提交動物保育議題的創新建議,同時亦安排中學生及大學生親自參與海龜放歸活動。公眾亦可在園區設施 - 海洋奇觀的展板中了解更多海龜拯救的工作,藉由綠海龜Elmo體內所收集到的海洋垃圾更清晰認知海龜在香港生存面臨的威脅。

攜手保護綠海龜
一次性的塑膠會影響海洋生態,海龜和其他動物都可能會誤食。你都可以一齊「走飲管」,保護海龜和其他海洋動物。