Ocean Park Hong Kong

Acropora Corals

Chinese Name: 鹿角珊瑚
English Name: Acropora Corals
 
What is Coral?
Although corals appear in different shapes and arrangements, they are actually a kind of coelenterate with symmetrical bodies. The life unit of coral is a polyp. Thousands of polyps group together to form a compact colony which we see as “coral”. Therefore, different compositions and arrangements of polyps create a variety of  coral shapes, such as plating, branching, massive (brain-like) etc.

Acropora Corals:
Acropora corals are some of the commonly seen hard corals in Hong Kong, with branching growth forms which look like antlers.
Corals in Hong Kong:
Hong Kong, as a famous coastal city, has a rich diversity of coral species. Up to now, a total of 84 species of hard corals and 67 species of soft corals and gorgonians were recorded. This number is comparable to diving hotspots in other parts of the world. Hong Kong was once a prosperous fishing port. Many commercially-valuable fishes, such as golden threadfin bream, groupers, wrasses etc, rely on a healthy coral ecosystem for reproduction.
 
Distribution:
Most of the corals are located in eastern Hong Kong near the South China Sea where salinity is relatively stable. Fewer are found in western Hong Kong facing the Pearl River, where salinity fluctuates with the seasons.
Threats and Conservation Status:
Global warming and pollution are major threats that lead to coral bleaching. Unsuitable environmental conditions and rising temperatures cause the zooxanthellae to leave the coral, resulting in a loss of colour and nutrients. Apart from temperature change, excessive carbon dioxide in the air dissolving in water forms carbonic acid, which results in ocean acidification and prohibits the formation of the calcium carbonate skeleton in corals. Coral is also under threat from explosive fishing methods, cyanide, improper fishing activities etc. Coral reefs provide food and shelter for about 25% of marine life. The disappearance of corals may threaten many marine lives as a result.

Ocean Park and Coral Conservation:
Ocean Park works with universities as a laboratory base and nurturing ground for Coral Environmental Stress Testing. Ocean Park has been cultivating local coral species, Acropora corals in the Aquarium for stress testing and coral rehabilitation research. In 2020, Ocean Park will organise the “Ocean Park Conservation Alliance” and invite secondary schools to participate in coral conservation by applying artificial intelligence technology in integrating coral data and establishing a Hong Kong coral artificial identification system.

Let’s Protect Acropora Corals
Sunscreen is a silent killer to the ocean, it disrupts the growth and reproduction of coral.  To conserve our beautiful corals, let’s choose to cover up our body with sum-protective clothing next time we go to beaches and help corals to regain their colors.

香港海洋公园

鹿角珊瑚

中文名称: 鹿角珊瑚
英文名称: Acropora Corals
什么是珊瑚:
我们一般所见的珊瑚虽有着千奇百怪的外貌,但其实它们是腔肠动物的一种,拥有对称的身体。珊瑚的生命单位由珊瑚虫组成,一般我们所见到的「珊瑚」都是由成千上万个的珊瑚虫组成的一个生命共同体,亦指动物群体,所以不同的组成及排序方式为珊瑚造成了不同的形态,有鹿角状、脑状等。

鹿角珊瑚:
香港拥有多种鹿角珊瑚,当中包括指形鹿角珊瑚等,此类珊瑚的特点为生长形态呈分枝及指状,枝体粗短,像是雄鹿的角。
香港与珊瑚:
香港作为一个沿海城市,拥有品种繁多的珊瑚。现时香港共有发现石珊瑚84种、 软珊瑚及柳珊瑚67种,种类堪比一些国外的潜水胜地。曾经的香港作为一个繁荣的渔港,很多具有商业价值的食用鱼类都是依靠一个健康的珊瑚生态系统作为重要的育幼场所,如红衫鱼、石斑及青衣等。

分布范围:
香港的珊瑚大多分布在靠近南中国海及盐度变化较小的东面海域,少数被发现于临近珠江河口的西面水域。
珊瑚威胁与保育:
污染和温度变化可引致珊瑚白化,令它们失去共生藻,失去色彩及营养来源。除了气候变化令海水温度上升外,空气中过多的二氧化碳亦令海水变酸,最终导致珊瑚的骨干溶解。另外,珊瑚也遭受炸药和氰化物(山埃)等捕鱼用具所破坏。珊瑚礁为约25%的海洋生物提供食物和庇护所,珊瑚的消失,意味着大量海洋生物的生命均会受到威胁。

海洋公园与珊瑚保育:
近年来,海洋公园一直与大专院校合作,提供场所养殖本地珊瑚以供大学作珊瑚对环境压力的变化影响及为珊瑚复育作出一分力。 2020年海洋公园更会举办「海洋公园保育联盟」,让本地青年有机会应用人工智能技术整合珊瑚普查的数据,建立香港珊瑚人工智能辨识系统,从而提升学生对香港珊瑚多样性的认识及亲身为海洋保育出一分力。

携手保护鹿角珊瑚
防晒液会污染海洋,破坏珊瑚的生长及繁殖能力。为保育珊瑚,下次出行,你可以选择以衣物遮挡身体,防止紫外线的侵袭!